Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Advice Needed!

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by Transgenic, Jul 2, 2009.

1. Transgenic

Transgenic PetForums Newbie

Hey everyone i need some tips and advice. Im currently a student at university but i am planning to get 2 dogs when i move out. After researching the different breeds along with their temperaments/needs ive decided that i would like to get a german shepherd (dog) and a alaskan malamute (bitch).

I have been looking at pups and how much they cost and there is some conflicting information and i would appreciate someone clarifying some things for me. I'm not planning to enter the dogs into any form of competition or dog shows but i would like to have heathy animals with good characteristics. Can this only be achieved by getting a pure bread pedigree dog?

Although i dont wish to enter them into shows or anything like that, i would like to train them for my own personal enjoyment and theirs to keep them entertained and healthy. For the GSD i would like to train as a protection dog and possibly enrol it in dog training classes that are available in my area. I would like to train the malamute also but is this breed limited to what it can learn/willing to learn when compared to the GSD.

Any information would be helpful thank you :)

2. Nonnie

Nonnie PetForums VIP

Have you ever owned a dog before, and how much time will you have to dedicate to their care?

Also, with a dog and a bitch, you will have to get one or the other, or both, neutered.

3. sequeena

sequeena PetForums VIP

Hiya, I'm glad you've decided on a GSD, they are a wonderful breed :)