Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

advice needed on buying a new puppy.

Discussion in 'Dog Chat' started by vicky83, Jul 22, 2009.

1. vicky83

vicky83 PetForums Newbie

Hi I am looking into getting a puppy but I am a little worried that my circumsatnces don't suit having a dog. I am a full time teacher although I have 7 weeks of at the moment. My partner also works full time but has the option to work at home some days. we are also looking into a dog walker for the days that we are both at work. the breed we have been looking into is a cavalier king charles spaniel. Could anybody give any advice on whether this breed is suited or if they know of any other breeds that would be suited to our circumsatnces? thank you

2. Sleeping_Lion

Sleeping_Lion Banned

It sounds like you're perfectly suited to getting a pup, as long as you've got the day broken up so they're not left for more than four hours once you're back at work full time in the Autumn.

There are plenty of ckcs people who will be able to advise you about the specific health tests to look for, make sure you ask to see the paperwork from any breeder, don't just take their word for it as other puppy buyers have believed the paperwork is in place, only to find it isn't. Any good breeder will be more than happy to show you the correct paperwork, and won't worry about you insisting on this.

Good luck in your search for a pup.

3. sallyanne

sallyanne Guest

Hi,Welcome to the forum,
    I don't know alot about the breed you have in mind,other forum members do though and will be able to advise you. :)

4. RowanWolf

RowanWolf PetForums Member

How many hours a day would the dog be left once you are back full time?
    Cavvies love people and HATE being alone.

5. vicky83

vicky83 PetForums Newbie