Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Addvice needed

Discussion in 'Cat Breeding' started by mizzpussy, Feb 5, 2008.

1. mizzpussy

mizzpussy PetForums Newbie

Hi all, i am a newbie, i really need addvice on this, i have a silly friend who thought it would be fun and cute to breed her small 1yr old tortoiseshell cat she gave birth to 2 still born boys and 2 healthy females now 6wks old they are suposidly letting me have one, i am paying for all wormers injections etc, the kittens have not been weaned well they are only given half a sashay of kitten meat a day i bought for her, other than that they have to try and eat mums bikkies, the main thing i am worried about is that mum is only eating dry food once a day and has not been separated from the kittens at all and has not been taken to the vets for a check up (conveniently forgot appointment yesterday) all the time the kittens are nursing from her i have tried to explane the health implications of this but she just wont listen i dont want mum ill, or the kittens, at what age would it be safe for me to take the kitten away from mum, as she eats she eats well when i personally give her food.

2. may

may PetForums VIP

6 weeks is far to young to leave Mum and her sister,
    This is the age the kittens will learn about play what is safe etc,
    and the amount of food is NOT enough for a growing kitten,
    I also think the Mum needs more than one meal a day :(
    Kittens need there inoculations around 9 weeks when the baby is fully inoculated
    after another week is the right time to re home them:)

3. mizzpussy