Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

Accountants

Discussion in 'Dog Walking' started by Darrell Jones, Feb 3, 2017.

1. Darrell Jones

Darrell Jones PetForums Member

How many self employed Dog Walkers use Accountants? Is it possible and easy enough to keep your own accounts and file tax returns?

2. Waggle n Purrs

Waggle n Purrs PetForums Member

I do my own on line - really easy.

3. MilleD

MilleD PetForums VIP

If you aren't planning on becoming VAT registered - it's easier and cheaper to do it yourself.

Online self assessment is far easier than filling in the old forms. All you really need is a day book or excel spreadsheet, keep decent records and Bob's your uncle.

I am an accountant and it really is overkill to pay someone to do something you can do yourself.

Lilylass and Waggle n Purrs like this.
  4. Darrell Jones

Darrell Jones PetForums Member

Thanks both. Do you find it easy enough to claim back some of the costs of petrol etc against tax when doing your own accounts?

5. Waggle n Purrs

I didn't earn enough to pay Tax in my first year so didn't bother with putting fuel costs - would be interested in how to claim if necessary though :)

Darrell Jones likes this.
  6. Siskin

Siskin Look into my eyes....

I used to put mileage through, I think HMRC rate is 40p per mile. It was offset against the income and treated as an expense. There is only a certain amount you can claim at that rate, can't rmember the details too long ago:D

Darrell Jones and Waggle n Purrs like this.
  7. MilleD

MilleD PetForums VIP

45p for the first 10k. 25p thereafter.

This covers all vehicle expenses so you can't then also claim for an element of insurance etc.