Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

A very quick raw question

Discussion in 'Dog Health and Nutrition' started by DirtyGertie, Mar 24, 2011.

1. DirtyGertie

DirtyGertie PetForums VIP

Some of you will know I am considering trying Poppy with raw and will introduce it gradually as we still have a case of Naturediet and a bag of Burns to use up.

OH is just off to Lidl and I've asked him to get a pack of chicken drumsticks and a pack of chicken thighs so I can put them in the freezer (don't get to Lidl very often :( ).

Can I give her a drumstick straight from the chilled pack - as in do they need to be frozen first to kill off any nasties and then defrosted, or can she have one either tonight or tomorrow morning?

Please forgive stupid question :eek: , I'm still very new to this.

And is this right - I hold the drumstick to start with so she learns to eat it slowly (she's not a gulper anyway) and learn to chew the bone?

I remember seeing something about bashing it with a rolling pin to break the bone up - is that best for a small dog or just let her get on with it.

Ta muchly.

2. LexiLou2

LexiLou2 PetForums VIP

I'm not sure about the freezing it thing, I froze mine before i gave them just in case, however Lexi has just started raw and she has being having drumsticks and all i have done is hold one end and make sure she didn't eat it in huge mouth fulls, with the exception of getting my finger munched the first time this has worked well, my only issue has been on a drumstick there is like a knuckley bit that i hold which means it is the last bit she eats and I can't get her to chew it, so i just bash that bit so it breaks up but the rest i let her chew so she gets used to chewing and breaking up bone.

3. SixStar

SixStar Banned

Pork is the only meat that needs to be frozen before feeding, chicken is fine straight from the packet.