Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

A question about cat litter

Discussion in 'Cat Chat' started by Nicolajane, Feb 1, 2012.

1. Nicolajane

Nicolajane PetForums Member

For those of you who haven't read my other post I'm brand new to cat owning so I may require the advice of you more experienced folk a few times.

I have two cats a boy of one and a girl of 14 weeks.

I'm currently using wood pellet but I really do not like the smell of it. I've tried the non-clumping catsan but every time either of them went in the tray (I've got a covered one with a flap) they brought loads of it out with them and I was finding it all over the house.

I'm a bit wary about what to try as I read somewhere that clumping litter can be bad for kittens in case they actually swallow some when they are grooming themselves.

Anyone have any suggestions?

2. Kiwi

Kiwi PetForums VIP

Hello and welcome to cat world! Do you have a rubber mat outside the litter tray? I found it really cuts down the mess x

3. Cookieandme

Cookieandme PetForums VIP

I am also a new cat owner at 49 :D

I was given some litter when I adopted her in December, so I don't know what it is. I am using Worlds Best clumping letter with an open box and although a little gets flicked over the side when she jumps out (I bought a hand vax to clean up) and there is the odd piece around the house I haven't noticed any sticking to Cookies fur.

I bought one of the half moon rubber mats from P@H which she just jumps over, so not really worth it but probably give the box a little purchase on the kitchen floor.

4. Nicolajane

I've not tried a mat, I will do though.

I've never found litter on my kitten's fur either and I've noticed that some clumping litter states it can be used with kittens.

I like the idea of clumping because I can get both the number twos and ones out then.

5. ella

ella PetForums VIP