Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

A bit of advice from someone please

Discussion in 'Cat Health and Nutrition' started by lily_cat, Mar 24, 2011.

1. lily_cat

lily_cat PetForums Newbie

Hiya I'm a newbie so hello everyone :)

I wonder what you'ddo.. I have no idea what to do here... My cat has always been a sickly cat, she's around 12 years aprox (she was a rescue cat and was stray before I adopted her 9 years ago. She has mellowed quite a lot since then... she used to bite feet and spit when you walked past etc but as time has gone on she's gained our trust and is a lovely cat... anyway I digress.

She has never been a big eater and would rather pick tit bits so is quite a skinny cat.
    We took er to the vets 3 weeks ago as she was falling off her back legs one evening and then seemed to go back to normal and not done that since but the vet said she had a tumour about the size of an egg probably on her intestines her advice was to either have her in and open her up and see if it was operable (but more than likely wouldn't be) if not put her to sleep there and then or take her home... we chose to take her home.
    Now she's gradually got worse, she breathes very fast and her whole body goes in with the breaths she's drinking a lot and hardly eating anything but the eating thing is not much of a difference anyway
    our dilemma is do we take her to the vets and have her put to sleep before she deteriorates anymore or do we keep her going? But who's benefit is that for? hers our ours?
    She is alert and manages to claw her way up to my lap occasionally where she purrs away.
    She goes to her litter on her own but that's about it, she sits on her bed and sleeps mostly.