Welcome to PetForums

Join thousands of other pet owners and pet lovers on the UK's most popular and friendly pet community and discussion forum.

3 week old kittens - when will they become used to us??

Discussion in 'Cat Training and Behaviour' started by mobykhan, Apr 14, 2011.

1. mobykhan

mobykhan PetForums Junior

Hello, we have 3 kittens that will be 3 weeks old tomorrow. I have been researching as much as I can as this is my first time with kittens and all I keep reading is alot of contradicting advice :confused: I am just wondering if people can tell me if we have done the right or wrong things please and if this is normal for kitten behaviour.

From day 1 (well day 2) Mummy cat Jerry has been absolutely fine with us handling the kittens. I always picked them up once a day just for a quick look over and a weight check. All done within 5 minutes and I never tried to prolong this. They always squealed their bums off during it all but Jerry was always there to reassure them with kisses and they would quieten down a little.

We have always gently stroked them to get them used to us and our scent (we washed our hands with anti-bac always before and after) and coming into week 3, we have done it more so (adding only an extra 5 minutes). But even seeing them this morning, the kittens still hiss at me, then settle down, then try and hiss at me again and escape to a corner (even if mum is in the nesting box purring away).

We rarely approach the nesting box without Jerry there (I don't think she's bothered at all by us being there without her though) and even on the odd occasion we do approach without her, their behaviour is still the same.