Separation anxiety/car sickness +

Discussion in 'Dog Training and Behaviour' started by Buck34_7, Mar 14, 2017.

1. Buck34_7

Buck34_7 PetForums Newbie

Hi, we have an English golden cocker spaniel puppy who's 9 months old.
    There's a lot of history however the main issues now are just that he hates to be left and will cry whimper and howl, and he is sick after only a mile or so in the car meaning i cant take him with me.

I bought a dog crate as he will chew the house if unsupervised but I've never used one before and know better than to just lock him in it.
    At the moment the doors open and he can go in and out to get his toys till he gets used to it.

All hints or tips regarding the above greatly appreciated.

Kind regards Buck

2. Lurcherlad

Lurcherlad PetForums VIP

Look at the Stickies at the front of this section on Crate Training and Separation Anxiety - lots of tips.

ouesi likes this.
  3. Buck34_7

I read those however they seem to be more to pre empt problems rather than fix existing ones.
    That said i will read again.
    Thank you.

4. JANICE199

JANICE199 PetForums VIP

Personally i think the best way to deal with both problems is to start with little and often. By that i mean, take the dog for a very short drive, say 5 mins and build the time up gradually. The same with being left alone. Hope this helps.

5. Buck34_7

I agree and I'm trying to make the crate fun, throwing toys in it for him to fetch etc however i do need to go out on school runs and need to know that him and the house are safe and sadly he has to be left at times.
    At the moment he will bark, whimper and howl (kind of) till i get back.
    I think he tries to take his own mind off being alone by chewing stuff but apart from the damage there's a chance he could get a mains lead or something and get hurt.