Is it safe to feed cats scrambled eggs and raw eggs.

Discussion in 'Cat Health and Nutrition' started by sante, Dec 4, 2013.

1. sante

sante PetForums Senior

I am interested, is I ok to feed cats scrambled eggs and raw eggs? If feeding scrambled eggs is it ok to mix butter into it to scramble the eggs because I am guessing using milk is a no, no as cats are lactose intolerant?

I am sorry for asking this question out of the blue but I am still learning. Plus which part of a raw egg is best to feed a cat, the egg white or yolk or both?

Thnk you for your replies and advice.

#1 sante, Dec 4, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2013
  2. lymorelynn

lymorelynn UN Peacekeeper in training
    Staff Member

As far as I know it's fine to feed eggs (whole raw) or scrambled - not all cats are lactose intolerant and I don't think the small amount of butter and milk used would matter - you could always use goats' milk and butter if lactose was a problem.
    Mine sometimes get an egg yolk if I'm making meringue but aren't that keen
    Oh, edited title for you too :)

3. Cosmills

Cosmills PetForums VIP

Cooked egg is fine but raw egg shouldn't be given ..

4. Toby Tyler

Toby Tyler Banned

Yes it's safe to feed eggs, both cooked and raw. However there are some studies that suggest uncooked egg white should not be fed to cats. There is nothing wrong with feeding a small amount of butter either, it's a good hairball remedy. You could also scramble the eggs in olive oil for some omega 3 fatty acids.

My 3 cats are on a raw homemade diet that includes raw egg yolk in the mince.

sante likes this.
  5. sante

sante PetForums Senior

Thank you for correcting the title for me :)

I didn't know that, I was told milk was bad for them :)

6. sante

sante PetForums Senior

Oh cool I will make Rosie some scrambled eggs next time I have it. Will also give her a raw egg at some point as a treat :)

7. dougal22

dougal22 Banned

Any reason why raw egg shouldn't be given?

8. Toby Tyler