Hyperthyroidism

Discussion in 'Cat Health and Nutrition' started by chillminx, Nov 23, 2010.

1. chillminx

chillminx PetForums VIP

Hi everyone,

My elderly cat was diagnosed with Hyperthyroidism a couple of months ago. She is on Felimazole 2.5 mg, and her T4 levels have responded rapidly and are now within normal range.

I am glad to say she has gained a little weight since being on Felimazole, but there are still problems getting her to eat enough....just as there have been for the past year. She is hungry, but when given food she licks at it, and eats very little. The vet says this is because Hyperthyroidism affects her metabolism, making her feel hungry, but also making her nauseous when she eats, thus putting her off her food.

I have no experience of Hyperthyroidism, but I have many years personal experience of HyPOthyroidism (HypoT). I do know that with treating HypoT, it is important to medicate to a level where symptoms disappear, but ensure T4 levels stay within normal range. Does anyone know if the same theory applies with treating Hyperthyroidism? So, if her dose of Felimazole were to be increased slightly, might this improve her appetite, and reduce the nausea?

Also, can anyone tell me if there are any useful supplements to give a cat with hyperthyroidism?

Many thanks.:)

2. Dally Banjo

Dally Banjo PetForums VIP

Cant help with supplements but the operation to have the glands removed is very sucessful :)

3. chillminx

chillminx PetForums VIP

Hi Dally Banjo, thanks for your comment.

Actually, tbh, at the moment I am trying to avoid my cat having a thyroidectomy, as she is aged 17 and the vet says she would be under the g.a. for an hour. I know there are risks at any age with a g.a., but risks increase considerably with a cat age 17.