HELP PLEASE -Duck eggs due to hatch!

Discussion in 'Poultry Chat' started by MrsH, Aug 4, 2013.

1. MrsH

MrsH PetForums Newbie

Hi I'm wondering if someone can help me. I have 2 call ducks incubating at the moment. This is my first attempt at hatching. They are due to hatch today or tomorrow. I have stopped turning them and the incubator is currently on 37.5 degrees, humidity at 70%. The eggs have been wobbling quite a lot over the last 3 days! I have been looking all over the Internet to check my temperature and humidity are correct for 'lockdown' but can't find a definite answer anywhere. Should it be higher or have I got it correct? Does anyone know how long they take to hatch after they've started wobbling? I'm checking the incubator every 5 minutes, I feel like I'm going quakers lol. I don't think I can hear any noises coming from the eggs yet, does this mean they haven't pipped yet? Will it be obvious? I'm starting to get so nervous with the whole process. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. :)

2. AlexArt

AlexArt PetForums Senior

I love call ducks they're so sweet!!:D If they're wobbling then you know they are alive which is always a positive thing!!:) It's a wait and see job I'm afraid, I run my inci's 'dry' so keep the temp at 37.9 and humidity at 35-42% the whole way through depending on the air cell size and only up the humidity when they have pipped to about 60% for water fowl, it goes up on it's own when the first few hatch to around 70% anyway but that's just what I've found works. At this point I wouldn't have thought the humidity will hurt either way and they can generate their own body heat to some extent so a few points off in any direction won't hurt.