GPS Tracker for cats

Discussion in 'Cat Classifieds' started by elina, Apr 25, 2015.

1. elina

elina PetForums Newbie

#1 elina, Apr 25, 2015
    Last edited: May 28, 2015
  2. kittih

kittih PetForums VIP

Hi,

This product looks interesting. Many GPS real time devices I have seen seem to require a subscription. This doesn't seem to... is that correct? I have no experience of real time devices but have used the g-paws gps logger to log my cat's travels. This isnt a real time device but is much smaller than the one you have linked to and well tolerated by my cats. It gives a good depiction of a cats travels over time plotted on google maps or similar. I have used it to build up a pattern of my cats patrol routes so whilst it didnt tell me where my cat was at a particular instant, she was so consistent in her patrolling route and at what times that it was quite easy to visit those places and track her down. It was also possible to work out what activities she was likely to be engaged in: hunting sleeping, exploring.

What are you hoping to use a GPS locator / tracker for ?

Given my cat's habit of losing her collar I was reticent about paying a lot of money for a device that might be lost. in theory i suppose you could get coordinates of where the collar was but in practice locating a collar in dense undergrowth even with a fairly narrow search field might prove difficult perhaps ?

3. phustwit

phustwit PetForums Newbie

account Closed

#3 phustwit, May 16, 2015
    Last edited: May 16, 2015
  4. phustwit

phustwit PetForums Newbie

Account Closed

#4 phustwit, May 16, 2015
    Last edited: May 16, 2015
  5. kittih

kittih PetForums VIP

In your link Phustwit, the gpaws tracker is the one I have and described above. It is not a real time tracker but gives useful information about where your cat has been.