First time show, what do I do / what happens

Discussion in 'Cats Shows and Events' started by Pat Dale, Mar 14, 2017.

1. Pat Dale

Pat Dale PetForums Newbie

Hi,

I'm hoping someone can share their wisdom with me! I'm a complete newbie and novice when it comes to showing and I wondered if someone could just bullet point what happens and what I have to do so I can go to my first show? I would be so grateful. Maybe start with arrive at show.... it's a gccf show and I know you have to get there at a certain time but what happens when you get there? I have no idea and no one in real life to ask. Thank you for taking the time to read, Pat

2. lymorelynn

lymorelynn UN Peacekeeper in training
    Staff Member

Welcome to PF :Cat
    First of all you need to fill in your show entry form and get that sent back to the show manager with the appropriate fee - there will be a closing date so make sure it is sent in time. You may need to enclose a stamped addressed envelope if you want confirmation of your entry.
    On the day of the show you will be checked in by a vet - a top loading carrier makes it easier. Vet will check that vaccinations are up to date and check your cat over for signs of fleas, ringworm and that your cat is generally well. You then go off to your pen - you'll be given a pen number - to settle your cat in. In GCCF shows (apart from the Supreme) all pen furnishings (litter tray, blanket etc) have to be white.
    All owners have to leave before judging starts and aren't allowed back in until the main classes have been judged (usually around mid-day). No food or toys can be left in the pen during the main judging.
    You will find results pinned to a board somewhere near the show hall which you can check during the morning before returning to the show hall itself.