Pet Forums Community

Go Back   Pet Forums Community > Dog Forums > Dog Chat

Dog Chat Chat about our beloved dogs and puppies. Discuss anything dog related in this forum.

Registered users don't see this ad - Register Now (It's free!)
Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 28-09-2008, 05:16 PM
Pet Forums Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 795
Leah-Pardo is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Buying a dog from this place?

Hi everyone

I am new here

My mum and me are going to get a dog soon, we have decided on a pugalier puppy. We have found a breeder in Pembrokeshire and we have emailed them and are waiting their reply.

However I noticed that this place has many puppies for sale. They say they are fully licensed and on epupz there is this sign to show that the cousil have approved their kennels and they have checks often however I noticed that lots of sites say to be wary of places selling lots of dogs and I dont want to buy from somewhere that is anything like a puppy farm and treats their animals badly

http://www.pets4homes.co.uk/pets4hom...2574D00042F31C

notice how there are lots of listings from the same place:

http://www.pets4homes.co.uk/pets4hom...&SearchMax=250

What do you think, does this look like a safe place to buy or not?
Registered users don't see this ad - Register Now (It's free!)
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 28-09-2008, 05:19 PM
gillieworm's Avatar
Pet Forums VIP Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Derby
Posts: 2,399
Images: 10
gillieworm is just really nicegillieworm is just really nicegillieworm is just really nicegillieworm is just really nicegillieworm is just really nicegillieworm is just really nice
Re: Buying a dog from this place?

Looking at those ads just scream puppy farmer to me. I would avoid like the plague if I was you. Just sounds like someone trying to make money by crossing as many breeds as they can. I can't for one minute imagine all the relevant health tests etc have been done, because if they had why are they not breeding pedigrees instead?
__________________



  #3 (permalink)  
Old 28-09-2008, 05:21 PM
sallyanne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Buying a dog from this place?

No I don't think it's a good place to buy puppies from,if they are licensed it means they are breeding 5+ litters per year,sounds very much like a puppy farm to me.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 28-09-2008, 05:28 PM
tashi's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: up high in the welsh valleys
Posts: 15,142
Images: 48
tashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Buying a dog from this place?

I have just found their website it is frightening so no I would definately not buy a pup from there jmho
__________________
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 28-09-2008, 05:35 PM
Pet Forums Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London
Posts: 795
Leah-Pardo is on a distinguished road
Re: Buying a dog from this place?

ok thanks everyone for telling me

could i see their website please? I dont know where to find it
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 28-09-2008, 05:39 PM
tashi's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: up high in the welsh valleys
Posts: 15,142
Images: 48
tashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond reputetashi has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Buying a dog from this place?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leah-Pardo View Post
ok thanks everyone for telling me

could i see their website please? I dont know where to find it
pm'd you
__________________
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 28-09-2008, 05:41 PM
jackson's Avatar
Pet Forums VIP Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: County Down
Posts: 1,661
jackson is a jewel in the roughjackson is a jewel in the roughjackson is a jewel in the roughjackson is a jewel in the roughjackson is a jewel in the rough
Re: Buying a dog from this place?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tashi View Post
I have just found their website it is frightening so no I would definately not buy a pup from there jmho
Me too. Things like that make me feel a bit sick!

leah-pardo, I am sorry to say it is extremely unlikely you'll find a decent breeder of cross-breeds. Also, it is hard to know how they will turn out, as they may take more characteristics from one breed than the other. Why not go for a pedigree dog from health tested parents?
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 28-09-2008, 05:44 PM
sallyanne
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Buying a dog from this place?

Can someone PM me a link to their website please - Thanks
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 28-09-2008, 06:06 PM
JANICE199's Avatar
Pet Forums VIP Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: WATCHING THE SILLY COW THATS WATCHING THE SHEEP.
Posts: 22,368
Images: 5
JANICE199 has a reputation beyond reputeJANICE199 has a reputation beyond reputeJANICE199 has a reputation beyond reputeJANICE199 has a reputation beyond reputeJANICE199 has a reputation beyond reputeJANICE199 has a reputation beyond reputeJANICE199 has a reputation beyond reputeJANICE199 has a reputation beyond reputeJANICE199 has a reputation beyond reputeJANICE199 has a reputation beyond reputeJANICE199 has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Buying a dog from this place?

i know only too well how you must be feeling.i have wanted a white toy poodle for, well ages to say the est.and the best looking ones i have seen have been from someone that has puppies for sale almost every single day..dont get me wrong, these pups look just what i want..but the fact that they breed so many and with advice from this forum memebers..i could'nt buy from them..give it time, you will get what you are after
__________________
My holiday pics.http://zafirasphotosofwales.webs.com/






http://www.save-me.org.uk/
.......... I HATE TWO FACED PEOPLE...ITS SO HARD TO KNOW WHICH FACE TO SLAP FIRST!
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 28-09-2008, 06:13 PM
Cazmatch's Avatar
Pet Forums Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 159
Cazmatch is on a distinguished road
Re: Buying a dog from this place?

I know what breeder you`re talking about I think. I live in Pembrokeshire and thats where I bought Harvey from. I can only give you my honest opinion on it. Yes there is a wide variety in pups. They are housed in pens. The pens are kept clean and dry with sawdust and shredded paper. Any individual pups left from litters, do tend to get paired up with a friend to keep them company, but yes at the end of the day it is a business to these people and unfortunately, to them the pups are just stock.
Closed Thread

Bookmarks

Tags
breeders, pugaliers, puppyfarms

Sponsored Ads


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All posts made on this forum are NOT monitored.
All times are GMT. The time now is 02:52 PM.


In association with Pets4Homes, the UK's leading free pet advertising site to find Dogs | Dogs for Sale | Puppies for Sale | Horses for Sale | Ponies for Sale | Reptiles for Sale | Poultry for Sale | Birds for Sale | Fish for Sale | Guinea Pigs for Sale | Ferrets for Sale | Hamsters for Sale | Tortoises for Sale | pets for sale and Dog Breeds information, Pet Insurance and Dog Insurance quotes.

PetForums is part of the Pet Media group of websites including | Pets4Homes | PetsLocally | Used Car


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2