Pet Forums Community

Go Back   Pet Forums Community > Cat Forums > Cat Chat

Cat Chat Chat about our beloved cats and kittens. Discuss anything cat related in this forum.

Registered users don't see this ad - Register Now (It's free!)
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By PetloverJo
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-2011, 05:27 PM
Pet Forums Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 4
Silverlady6 is on a distinguished road
Getting a kitten from an online breeder?

Hello there all, well I've recently been in contact with a breeder/owner which i found online. She has persian kittens who are up with their shots and vaccinations. Problem is we are in different countries, and so the kitten will be shipped. This means that i only get to see it via pictures and videos for now. The litters look very healthy and playful. The breeder is very excited and will pay for the transport.

I'll be provided with:
-Health Gurantee
-Vaccine Record
-KC registration
-Microchip registeration
-Pedigree
-Nutrition supplment
-Travelling crate

What do you think? Would you go for it or rather get one from an existing breeder?
She said, "We just ask you to take good care of the kitten and remember to update us with images all the time."
Reply With Quote
Registered users don't see this ad - Register Now (It's free!)
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-2011, 05:53 PM
kinley's Avatar
Pet Forums Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 527
kinley is on a distinguished road
Re: Getting a kitten from an online breeder?

breeder will pay for transport?? sounds dodgy to me. how can you be sure they will send you a kitten when you have paid?

KC reg???? thats kennel club for dogs, cats will be registered with gccf if anything

all looks a bit dodgy
__________________
hi im from derby, im 29 and am a single mum to a 6 year old hooman girl, 3 year old lilac bsh millie, 6 month old white moggie kobi, and 5 month old torbie lexie

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-2011, 06:02 PM
IndysMamma's Avatar
Pet Forums VIP Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3,554
IndysMamma is a glorious beacon of lightIndysMamma is a glorious beacon of lightIndysMamma is a glorious beacon of lightIndysMamma is a glorious beacon of lightIndysMamma is a glorious beacon of lightIndysMamma is a glorious beacon of lightIndysMamma is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Getting a kitten from an online breeder?

sounds very dodgey to me

KC is Kennel Club and a dog thing - cats are GCCF or TICA registered as a rule

no such thing as a Health Guarentee - it is a living animal not a fridge! a good breeder may have Health Certificates showing testing for hereditary diseases and conditions but would not try to guarentee health like that...

Paying for transport is very suspicious - are you invited to come meet and play with them? unless you are able to come play with them and see them with their mum and siblings - run away screaming

finding breeders online is fine but maybe go to the breed club websites and find breeders on there? that ad sounds like a carbon copy of a lot of the 'puppy scams' where the puppies either don't exist or are puppy mill rejects
__________________
Why not visit my new website? http://www.hideawaypets.co.uk
Fantastic New Items Available for Home, Pets and their People!

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-2011, 06:58 PM
kerfuffle's Avatar
Pet Forums Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 394
kerfuffle will become famous soon enoughkerfuffle will become famous soon enoughkerfuffle will become famous soon enough
Re: Getting a kitten from an online breeder?

KC registered??? Kennel Club is for dogs, as previously mentioned. Cats are GCCF/TICA/CFA(American). I don't know if you live in the UK, but importing animals into the UK is very difficult and subject to many rules and fees, most would balk at the price of a kitten AND transportation AND fees.

Can I ask why you are importing a cat? Is there nowhere locally you can get a kitten from? Internet purchase of a kitten is dodgy - why would the breeder, if he or she is such a good breeder - not want to meet you first and see how you interact with the kittens?

So many warning signs.
__________________
My lifelong ambition is to be a crazy cat lady. The only obstacle is my OH.

Who will go and who gets to stay? Stay tuned...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-2011, 07:33 PM
spid's Avatar
Pet Forums VIP Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blandford Forum, Dorset
Posts: 6,146
spid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to behold
Re: Getting a kitten from an online breeder?

Don't tell me all money up front etc - I would be very wary. What country are the from? Double check on google images - I was nearly scammed once - the 'breeder' sent me pictures from the internet - promised KC registration etc. Paying for transportation seems very odd - I'd go for a breeder in the country you are in.

Give us more details (the ad etc) and I'll check it out. If they want money by Western Union - ran as fast as poss as well.
__________________
please look at my website - www.finesthourcats.webs.com - for gorgeous GCCF registered RagaMuffins and Selkirk Rex

Last edited by spid; 26-12-2011 at 07:43 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-2011, 07:38 PM
Pet Forums Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bristol
Posts: 707
swatton42 will become famous soon enoughswatton42 will become famous soon enough
Re: Getting a kitten from an online breeder?

Sounds abit suspect...

I would always want to meet an animal before I adopted it anyway. That way you can be sure exactly what you are getting.
__________________
Adopted by:

Ginge - Abby guinea piggy
Bubbles - English crested piggy
Mackenzie - English crested piggy
Skit - Standard (but cute) piggy
Max - Ragdoll x cat
The Rainbow Fish
Rest in peace my lovely furfamily that are no longer with us.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-2011, 07:44 PM
Pet Forums VIP Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 1,305
PetloverJo will become famous soon enoughPetloverJo will become famous soon enough
Re: Getting a kitten from an online breeder?

Aren't you the same lady who has just had to have a kitten put down due to FPV?

Nooooooo I would not get a kitten at all. Persian or otherwise

Clip clip clop who's that going over my bridge?
spid and buffie like this.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-2011, 07:57 PM
jo-pop's Avatar
Pet Forums VIP Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 2,513
Images: 1
jo-pop has a spectacular aura aboutjo-pop has a spectacular aura aboutjo-pop has a spectacular aura about
Re: Getting a kitten from an online breeder?

I think it's very very suspect. Don't go near it.
Personally i think it is very irresponsible to regime a new cat until after a year has passed from any cat being infected with fpv or cat flu etc. It's just not fair to risk a cats health
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-2011, 08:02 PM
Pet Forums VIP Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Manchester
Posts: 3,407
Superash is just really niceSuperash is just really niceSuperash is just really niceSuperash is just really niceSuperash is just really niceSuperash is just really nice
Re: Getting a kitten from an online breeder?

this sounds very dodgy cant you find a breeder in this country surely ????
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 26-12-2011, 08:32 PM
spid's Avatar
Pet Forums VIP Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blandford Forum, Dorset
Posts: 6,146
spid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to beholdspid is a splendid one to behold
Re: Getting a kitten from an online breeder?

The OP has left the thread
__________________
please look at my website - www.finesthourcats.webs.com - for gorgeous GCCF registered RagaMuffins and Selkirk Rex
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Sponsored Ads


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All posts made on this forum are NOT monitored.
All times are GMT. The time now is 10:41 AM.


PetForums is part of the Pet Media group of websites including | Pets4Homes | PetsLocally


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.0 RC 2